A Heart Full Of Hornets meaningless lists No. 4

My favourite 10 bits in music:

  1. Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees (3:52) "if I could be who you wanted/all the time" makes me cry every time.
  2. Sigur Ros – Vidrar Vel Til Lofarstra (7:31) a mother of a build up, the strings, drums and everything comes in with the guitar and it sounds motherfucking hhhuuuuggggge!
  3. Chemical Brothers – Your Private Psychadelic Reel (3:27) the bit that sounds likethe music's been compressed to the size of a pe, which then enters your right ear, buzzes around for a bit then flys out your other ear. It's brilliant, especially when you're listening to headphones. 
  4. M83 – Gone (3:01) for almost three minutes there's been a slow build up, layers of sound add up. Then the drums come in and some kind of robotic banshee screams in your ear. Played at the right volume, it's downright terrifying.
  5. The Flaming Lips – Do You Realise (1:11) "that everyone you know, someday will die?" it sounds so sad, and it is, but somehow it gives me some measure of peace.
  6. Deftones – Minerva (0:16) after some gentle strumming the full force of the band hits at the same time. It's like a bomb's gone off in your face.
  7. DJ Shadow – Napalm Brain/Scatter Brain (8:23) it's been nothing but scattershot drum beats and echoey ambience. But eventually the drums fade and out of nowhere, a simple melody on some violins comes in and seems to make everything peacful. It lasts for a full minute and it is bliss.
  8. Arab Strap – The Shy Retirer (1:18) "you know I'm always moanin'/but you jump start ma seratonin", just say it in a Glasgow accent and it makes so much sense.
  9. Nine Inch Nails – Perfect Drug (3:26) plusing electronics makes way to the most frantic drum break I've ever heard.
  10. Jetscreamer – Frontporch (2:40) sounds like the name of the band; a vitriolic slide guitar that sounds like a doomed plane.

As you can probably tell, I like songs with big moments in them that usually blow your speakers out, and what's wrong with that? I was going through my i-pod and trying to work out why certain songs appeal to me. It's kinda hard to pin it down; some were amazing the first time I heard them, some were important songs to me growing up. Some have great lyrics, or a great guitar or bass line. Being a (crap) drummer means I love great drum beats, but I mean most of the time it's just a sound, a single chord that just makes my heart swell. Just that one sound that makes it the most amazing thing you've ever heard. Fuck knows. Probably just me.

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


