the Rogers Sisters – The Invisible Deck

Rogers SistersI know I’ve said before that I don’t really care about what bands look like and it’s all about the music. Well this is true and I stick by it, but when I’m casually watching some music video, things like a sexy guitarist who looks like Kate Beckinsale’s cuter sister usually get my attention. I knew the name The Rogers Sisters, but hadn’t bought any of their stuff before. However, with a dammed catchy single and eye catching video, I was convinced enough to get their album. Despite my reservations of another three piece guitar/bass/drums combo, the Rogers Sisters have a good array of sounds to back themselves up.
“Emotional Control” has a static-y guitar line that kinda masks the melody, but the interlaced vocals are catchy. “You Undecided” is another treble heavy song, which then has this great, buzzing bassline near the end. “Money Matters” has the trademark vocal interplay and heavy chorus but it drags in the middle a bit. “Never Learn To Cry”is a simple enough song, but I love the little drum break and the tight bassline.

“Sooner Or Later” is an anomaly; it’s over 8 minutes long but it doesn’t feel like it’s dragging that much. Cut down on some of the longer sections and you could have a 4-5 minute song. “Your Little World” is another long track that took me by surprise; it’s much slower than most of the other tracks, which probably explains it’s lenght. It’s got a great psychadelic guitar sound which is do different than what’s been on the rest of the album. My favourite track though, is “Why Won’t You”, a fairly straightforward stomper that starts quickly and ends sharply. The Invisible Deck is a pretty good album, considering it’s only 10 tracks long and lasts for 40 minutes. There’s some good variation of sounds and frankly you could do worse.
The Rogers Sisters – Why Won’t You:

  1. “Kate Beckinsale’s cuter sister” caught my eye too 😀 Song wasn’t bad either.




Leave a Reply

  • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


