CSS – Cansei De Ser Sexy

CSSA few months ago I read that the Canadian group Death From Above 1979 had broken up after releasing one album. The members put it down to basically not liking each other anymore. Oh well, c’est la vie. Just as well you didn’t make such a big fuss about changing your name and adding the 1979 bit on at the end, eh? Oh wait, you did. Well, at least their legacy will live on and in a pretty surprising way. Songs that name other bands are pretty rare, and when I saw the video for the debut single for CSS’ “Lets Make Love And Listen To Death From Above”. If anything you should all go out and hear this song for the title alone. But the rest of the album is a fun listen.

Overall the vibe I get off the album is a less angry version of Le Tigre. The opening “CSS Sux” maybe isn’t the best way to open an album, but it shows that they’re not taking everything seriously. “Patins” is a great rockin’ opener which segues into the heavy electro sounds of “Alala”. “Off The Hook” is a snappy track too, with a great harmonised chorus. “Alcohol” is basically a drinking song, with a fairly dumb chorus “I say hey/do you want to drink some alcohol?”

Typically for a band consisting of 5 artyBrazilian chicks (and 1 guy), there’s plenty of sly humour on this album. “Art Bitch” is a sly dig on modern art “I’m hardcore/I sell my crap and people come back for more”. “Meeting Paris Hilton” is probably a made up storybut still has a great beat. The standout is obviously “Let’s Make Love..” which is just a fun song, that stuck in my mind the first time I heard it. Cansei De Ser Sexy (translated: Tired of being sexy) is a tight little album at just over 35 minutes. It’s a short, sharp, fun album that should result in some equally funny white boy dance moves.

CSS – Let’s Make Love And Listen To Death From Above:

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


