Deftones – Saturday Night Wrist

DeftonesIt’s always difficult to write (or even listen to) an album that’s the followup to one of your favourites (witness the fact I haven’t talked about the new DJ Shadow album). As much as I loathe to compare things to what’s come before, this album does bear a weight of expectation for myself; The Deftones eponymously titled, fourth album is one of my favourites. It’s as beautiful as it is heavy and my favourite track changes from week to week. So, after 3 years (and a B-sides compilation released last year), the Deftones are back with their new album Saturday Night Wrist. Produced by Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd, Lou Reed), SNW continues the Deftones steady movement from the “pure” metal of their earlier albums to more esoteric territory.

Not that the Deftones could be lumped in with all those nu-metal dullards. The B-sides compilation featured covers of songs by the Cure, Duran Duran and The Smiths. Hardly what you’d expect from an average metal band. Saturday Night Wrist opens with the cracking “Hole In The Earth”, which grabbed me the second I heard the harmonies on the chorus.”Cheery Wave” also has a catchy chorus, whereas “Beware” just soars. “Rats! Rats! Rats!” is probably the heaviest thing on the album; the mid section just pounds away. “Pink Cellphone” is an odd bit of spoken-word, dark electro.

“Mein” is a top track that has a galloping beat and vocals from System Of A Down’s Serj Tankian that suits it’s dark sounds. It’s not all perfect, “Xeres” kinda meanders and “u,u,d,d,l,r,l,r,a,b,select,start” just isn’t engaging (despite it’s brilliant title). Mind you the best thing that I can say about this album is that like the band’s previous album, it’s a grower. It’s taken me some repeat listens to get into these songs, and for me personally that’s one of the best things about music. Maybe that’s not your bag, but you’d be missing out if you didn’t get this album.
Deftones -Hole In The Earth:

  1. John

    (witness the fact I haven’t talked about the new DJ Shadow album)

    I’d like to know what you think of that, because personally I think its aload of my arse and am glad I didnt buy it.

    He’s supposed to be playing in Liverpool in December but I wont be going to see him if he’s going to be playing the shite off his latest album.

  2. Didn’t really like Hole in the Earth. I just found it a bit dreary & monotonous (as in boring, not one tone lol).

  3. Wow… you are crazy stoogy. While Hole in the Earth may be the weakest (read not weak at all) it still is great. This album is 5 stars. Its nice to see the Deftones are not standing still. Buy this album for track 3 alone.




Leave a Reply

  • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


