Bernard Butler – People Move On

Bernard ButlerA couple of weeks ago, I was talking about the Albert Hammond Jr. album, and I touched upon the varying degrees of success that guitarists have had with solo albums after leaving their original band. One of the guys I briefly touched upon was Bernard Butler. In the early to mid 90’s he was guitarist with Suede, a band that were hyped massively before their first album came out. After an apparently difficult time recording the band’s second album, Dog Man Star, Bernard quit the band and struck out on his own. He recorded a good album with soul singer David McAlmont, but soon split from him too. Eventually in 1998, he recorded his first solo album. Despite being a brilliant guitarist, he delivered a mixed album that had quieter, acousitc songs as well as upbeat, grandious tracks.

The first track “Woman I Know” has a strange, subdued, woozy orchestral feel but has a wonderful solo that climaxes with an almost orgasmic single chord. “”You Just Know” is more lively, with big riffs and big harmonies. The album’s title track is a slower affair, which doesn’t show off Bernard’s flair with the guitar. “Autograph” is an epic, riff heavy track that does show his talent through with a fizzing solo section.

But overall the album is patchy; “You Light The Fire In Me” and “I’m Tired” are throwaway tracks that have never really stuck in my mind. There are a couple of high points though. The gentle”Stay” and the triumphant “Not Alone”, a brilliant song that just brims with positivity and energy. Like I say with many albums, it’s worth getting for this one track alone. True, I know that’s not going to sway lots of you, but this is still an interesting album with plenty of variety in the tracks that may tickle your fancy.

Bernard Butler – Not Alone

 

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


