Pony Up! – Make Love To The Judges With your Eyes

Pnou Up!So, all this week (time permitting) I’ll write up some articles about the CDs I got in Sydney. Unfortunately, no Aereogramme album, but I’ll get my dirty little mitts on it sometime. Anyway, first one this week is Pony Up! debut album Make Love To The Judges With Your Eyes. The band consists of 5 girls based in Montreal and if the Arcade Fire have taught us nothing else, then it’s everything from Canada is cool. Initial impressions are pretty good: the single “The Truth About Cat’s And Dogs” is dammed catchy and the band are pretty tight.

The interesting thing about these songs are that the band changes vocalists throughout. Other times it seems like all 5 members are singing at once. It just seems to give the songs a bit more force. Another thing I liked was the wry lyrics, “Make, Mode, #” has the protagonist worrying that “you’ve ate the wrapper/and thrown away the candy”. The group vocals also have and air of innocence and naivety, so a line like “dance for me/I like to watch,” (“Dance For Me”) doesn’t sound sinister as you would think.

The standout is still “The Truth About Cat’s And Dogs (Is That They Die)”, which just powers along and has a melody that has been lodged in my head for ages. It’s a song that drives forward and the vocals are sung really quickly but all sticks in your mind. This is another one of those albums that I like say that it’s better that you listen to it in one go, rather that a selection of tracks.

Pony Up! – The Truth About Cats and Dogs (Is That They Die):

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


