Explosions In The Sky – All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone

Explosions In The SkySo I’ve set myself up for another challenge; write about the new album from Explosions In The Sky without resorting to simply explaining what each track sounds like. Which is double tricky as I like trying to explain the dynamics of sound; I love it when guitars sound like they’re fizzing, drums are vibrating and bass guitars sound as if they’re being played like a lead guitar. Anyway, this is the second Explosions In The Sky album I’ve bought, after 2003’s The Earth Is Not A Cold Dark Place. That was a surprisingly warm and gentle album considering most post-rock is either doom-laden or sombre. In fact when you bunch in bands like EITS, Mogwai, Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Do Make Say Think, I don’t think a casual listener will be able to tell them apart.

But eventually moods and tones begin to form in my mind when I listen to these groups. GYBE are grand and full of big musical statements, even when the music is quiet. Mogwai have a desperate anger behind their tracks. Explosions in the Sky make a type of music that shimmers beautifully and is just radiant. In fact the guitar work will probably sound like some lost U2 guitar tracks; there’s no tricky time signatures or overwhelming white noise. Opening track “The Birth and Death of the Day”. “What Do You Go Home to” adds a delicate piano line to great effect.

The centre piece (literally) is the 13 and a half minute long “It’s Natural To Be Afraid”, it’s ebb and flow shifts althroughout until just 4 minutes to the end, when it explodes with power. All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone is beautiful and delicate album. Obviously not everyone will like it; it’s is an instrumental album that fits 6 tracks into just under 45 minutes. The music shines through all this; it’s beautiful and if that’s your bag then get this album.

Explosions In The Sky – Welcome Ghosts (performed live):

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


