Film School – Film School

Film SchoolAs you might have noticed, I’m a fan of the gloomy, new-wave inspired bands that have been about for the last few years. It all kicked off with Interpol, then newer discoveries like Editors, the National and the Stills. Then going back and actually listening to bands like the Cure, Joy Division and Echo and the Bunnymen. It’s not a leap to see the appeal of the beautiful but bleak songs these have. Actually, that’s a bit of a disservice; there’s lots of songs by these bands with bags of energy and intensity, often coupled with wry lyrics. Well, you can now add Film School to that group.

They’re a San Fransisco 5-piece and this is their self-titled, second album. Just like bands such as the Stills and Editors, there’s a shimmering, hazy guitar sound on this album which I just loved. It’s aided by some subtle synth sounds that give the tracks a little bit extra weight. It also gives some of the tracks a My Bloody Valentine feel, especially on a song like “He’s a DeepDeep Lake” which sounds almost dreamlike. The album’s kinda split into two halves, the first half featuring (mostly) shorter songs. The latter has some longer tracks where there’s some extended instrumental parts. It’s actually pretty well done, as the longer tracks don’t feel as if they’re going on too much. “11:11” starts off fairly slow before careening to a screeching halt.

Strangely enough, (for me) I actually like the shorter songs, like the fast, Cure-esque “Breet” and the towering “Harmed”. Maybe the best track is the first proper track on the album,  “On & On”. It’s a swooning, glacial track with a great chorus. It’s always pleasant when I get an album and not really expect too much from it, but it delivers anyway. There’s half a dozen little gems on this album, and stylistically it should appeal to quite a few people. (Just a quick note, my copy of the album appears to have bonus track not listed, the droning “PS”).

Film School – 11:11

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


