The Cooper Temple Clause – Kick Up The Fire And Let The Flames Break Loose

Cooper Temple ClauseIt seems sad, but I’m anticipating that the Cooper Temple Clause will go the same way as another of my favourite bands Hope Of The States. That is break up after producing some great work earlier in the decade during the “New Rock ‘n Roll” revolution. To be honest, most of the bands from that era (circa 1999 – 2003) have been displaced new-“new wave” bands like Bloc Party and Arctic Monkeys. Not a bad thing, but it’s no reason to simply write a band off. The Cooper’s third album Make This Your Own, hasn’t exactly set the world alight and garnered hardly any press attention and could spell doom for the band, momentum and favourable press being as fickle as they are. It’s a shame as the band’s second album Kick Up The Fire And Let The Flames Break Loose, was one of my favourite albums from that time and still has some great moments in it.

The Coopers were a rock band, but added plenty of electronics into the mix to create a fairly modern sound (during that period anyway). The chugging beat of “A.I.M.” is one example of the band combining heavy guitars and electronics, but not letting either element get in the way. In other words, the songs don’t sound like a rock song with some electronic stuff added on for effect and vice versa. “New Toys” is a bi, widescreen rock song but isn’t over the top, the band reign in it thankfully. “Promises Promises” is a ball out rock song that ends with an electronic dirge section.

The best track is either the slow starting “Same Mistakes” or the powerful and anthemic “Blind Pilots”, both of which can be really heavy but never just bludgeon you with sound (although, I kind like that). I don’t know why this was a bigger album back in 2003 when it was released, there’s some great stuff here. Maybe it was the band’s awkward name or silly haircuts. Maybe we were all still obsessed with the Strokes and White Stripes at the time. Whatever, if you haven’t got this album look out for it. You’ll be pleasantly surprised.

The Cooper Temple Clause – Blind Pilots:

  1. Designate

    To be honest with you, I had no idea that they’re still around making music. I’ll definitely check them out because I remember they had some really good tunes a few years ago.

  2. Yeah, they’ve got their third album out (which I can’t seem to find a copy of in Australia), but I remember reading it was going to come out just a year after this one. That was 3 years ago, so the momentum they had was probably lost.

    Nice site, by the way. I still can’t get the MP3 upload thing to work. Those are the type of albums I’d be talking about, if I wasn’t so fucking skint that I couldn’t actually buy any CDs.




Leave a Reply

  • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


