Peeping Tom – Peeping Tom

Peeping TomEx Faith No More front man Mike Patton has had his fingers in a fair few musical pies; after the split of Faith No More, he recorded as Tomahawk and Mr Bungie, as well as doing guest spots on dozens of albums, most notably for me when he guested on the Dan the Automator album, Lovage. In 2006 he announced he was making a “pop album”. Now I get wary when bands say they’re recording a “pop album”. Remember when the Manic Street Preachers said that’s what they were doing for one of their albums and it wasn’t exactly remarkable?

However, within the first few seconds of tribal percussion on “Five Seconds”, you can tell this is no simple pop album. Patton himself plays the majority of the instruments on the album as well as producing all the tracks (with help from Dan The Automator and Massive Attack on a couple of songs). All the songs sound really polished and fit together well, despite the numerous guest musicians and vocalists. “Sucker” is a cool track, with it’s down tempo jazzy beat and a surreal turn by Norah Jones on vocals (“What makes you think you’re my own lover/the truth hurts don’t it motherfucker?).

Highlights are the single “Mojo” which has a slight resemblence to Britney Spear’s “Ooops I did it again”, so maybe that’s where the pop connection comes in. The dub sounds of “Don’t Even Trip” are suitabley menacing, but the lyrics are humourous (“I know that assholes grow on trees/but I’m here to trim the leaves”). I’m struggling to find another album that’s like this one; it’s really slickly produced and features a real blend of hip hop beats and rock guitars. But neither element is at the fore, and Mike Patton has a voice that’s like no one else. He growls and croons in equal measure and it’s his vocals that tie the whole album together.

Peeping Tom – Mojo (a good vid, but the whole “Tv in sync with the song” is better done on the Super Furry Animals video for (Drawing) Rings Around The World):

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


