Eels – Blinking Lights and Other Revelations

EelsThe double album came into vogue a few years ago, undoubtably aided by Outkast’s Speakerboxx/The Love Below album (which was two seperate albums packaged together, like Lambchop’s Aw C’mon/No You C’mon). Now an artist or a band who release a double album these days, aren’t written off as prog or pretentious. As long as there’s enough good material, then put out as many CDs as you like. In 2005, Blinking Lights and Other Revelations was seen as the culmination of band leader Mark “E” Evertt’s career. It was an album which featured plenty of autobiographical songs, which dealt with his family and upbrining (not that his previous albums hadn’t featured such material).

As such, the album is pretty varied in it’s music, unlike the lyrical focus which is steady throughout. The early tracks like “Son Of A Bitch” and “Trouble With Dreams”, which whilst lyrically bleak still manage to sound upbeat. Another good track is “Railroad Man”, a track that deals with the passage of time with an amazing sounding slide guitar. From there on the music is all over the place, from messy psych outs like “The Other Shoe” to goofy, 60’s pop of “Going Fetal”.

My favourite has always been the beautiful but downbeat “Ugly Love” (“and if she finds me so repulsive/she wouldn’t be the first to wretch/for I decided one day long ago/I was never going to be the greatest catch,”). Maybe that’s why I like the album so much: the lyrics hit home to me. Okay, I haven’t had the kind of tragedy that’s befallen E, but these words mean a lot to me. I’m sure that’s not a surprise to you, but this has got to be one of the few albums I like on the strength of the song writing alone.

Eels – Trouble With Dreams:

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


