Sage Francis – Human The Death Dance

Sage FrancisSage Francis is another winner of the association lottery with me. I was watching the ABC later night music video show Rage on a Friday night. It’s a great place to see and hear loads of music that I wouldn’t usually hear. I tend to tape all six hours and watch it later on the weekend. Anyway, the video for “Got Up This Morning” came on and I was pretty impressed. The blues-ey melody coupled with a quality beat peaked my attention straight away, but wait… isn’t that Buck 65 in the video. Maybe this Sage Francis is a mate of his. Good enough for me to search out a copy of his latest album.

Human The Death Dance is Sage’s third album and just strikes me as an album of two halves. The start of the album is pretty angry with barbed attacks at the state of hip-hop on tracks like “Underground For Dummies” and “Midgets & Giants” (“8 Mile wasn’t true/shit head/it was a promotional tool/but not for you/shit head). But later on, the music gets mellower and the lyrics become darker charting broken relationships (“Keep Moving”) and thoughts of mortality (Black Out On A White Night). It’s an intoxicating mix, especially because there’s almost a different producer for each track. Still the results are consistent and really engaging.

The most surprising track is “Water Line” which has no beat, but a mournful sound that was really haunting and I’ve been listening to it for the last few days now. It’s just one of those tracks that just seeps into my head and I need to hear it more and more. If anything, it’s a shame it’s not longer. Couple that with the epic sounding “Going Back To Rehab” and you’ve got an album that’s probably one of the best that I’ve heard all year. I advise you find a copy of this straight away.

Sage Francis – Got Up This Morning:

 

    Leave a Reply

      • A Heart Full of Hornets

    Welcome to my blog. How you ended up here, heaven knows. Unless of course, I've been badgering you into visit almost every other day. I'll try and keep this updated regularly, with what I'm up to and any kind of musical recommendations which you can ignore at your leisure. If you want to get in touch with me you can e-mail aheartfullofhornets @ googlemail.com
  • What I’ve Been Listening To

  • What is del.icio.us?

    Del.icio.us is a form of social bookmarking: basically I see something online that I find interesting, I can bookmark it and then it appears below for everyone else to investigate too.
  • del.icio.us

  • Categories


